http://JMass3blog.wordpress.com

A fine WordPress.com site

http://www.nbcnews.com/politics/politics-news/trump-confirms-fbi-probe-blames-witch-hunt-man-who-told-n773296

President Donald Trump appeared to confirm in a tweet on Friday that he is under investigation for firing former FBI Director James Comey and blamed what he called a “Witch Hunt” on “the man who told me to fire” Comey — a possible reference to the deputy attorney general.

“I am being investigated for firing the FBI Director by the man who told me to fire the FBI Director! Witch Hunt,” Trump tweeted. NBC News has reported that federal investigators are examining whether the president attempted to obstruct justice.

(Insert:What I did is I was going to fire Comey. My decision,” Trump told Holt, a day after the White House had said the president fired Comey based on a recommendation from Rosenstein.)

Trump may have been referring to Deputy Attorney General Rod Rosenstein, who wrote a highly critical memo about Comey. In separate closed-door meetings with the House and the Senate, Rosenstein said his memo was “not a statement of reasons to justify a for-cause termination.”

The Justice Department declined to comment on Friday.

The probe is being led by special counsel Robert Mueller, who was appointed by Rosenstein. Attorney General Jeff Sessions recused himself from the widening investigation into Russian interference in the 2016 presidential election.

After 7 months of investigations & committee hearings about my “collusion with the Russians,” nobody has been able to show any proof. Sad!

Despite the phony Witch Hunt going on in America, the economic & jobs numbers are great. Regulations way down, jobs and enthusiasm way up!

I am being investigated for firing the FBI Director by the man who told me to fire the FBI Director! Witch Hunt

In an interview with NBC’s Lester Holt on May 11, Trump said he was “going to fire [Comey] regardless of recommendation” from Rosenstein and Sessions. In a letter to Trump, Sessions called for a “fresh start” at the FBI and recommended Comey’s removal.

“What I did is I was going to fire Comey. My decision,” Trump told Holt, a day after the White House had said the president fired Comey based on a recommendation from Rosenstein.

Play

I Was Going to Fire Comey Anyway, Trump Tells Lester Holt in Interview 2:35

As part of his

 

 

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2017 by .
